Through a glass, darkly

Another wonderful philosophic novel from Jostein Gaarder which once again opened my eyes for another angle to see.

cecilia-55c2ddba13ef6

This novel tells you about a point of view you wouldn’t imagine before, an angel. The story was wonderfully plotted  using the interaction of a very sick girl and her “guardian” angel. Well, it was of course just a possibility that angel really think like that, but hey, it was really enjoyable and beyond my imagination. A very intriguing part is Gaarder chose the base from a verse in the Bible;

1 Corinthians 13:12

For now we see only a reflection as in a mirror, then we shall see face to face. Now I know in part, then I shall know fully, even as I am fully known.

The novel made me think about how small and limited our knowledge is. Yes, limited to our own senses. Therefore, our mind will just see and think from our sense’s perspective. I thought about how if we think outside our perspective, and I remembered the movie “Interstellar” where humans would perceive 5 dimensions and not just 3. It’s so interesting to watch movies like that. Let’s just see what will happen next, I guess with the development of the technologies, that might just happen in the future!

Leave a Reply

